BAG inaugurates Eastern Regional Executive Members

By Dennis Osei Gyamfi, GNA

Accra, Sept 12, GNA - Mr Yeboah Evans, President of the Badminton Association of Ghana (BAG), has inaugurated a nine-member team to form the Executive Board of the Eastern Regional Badminton Association.

The newly formed Eastern Regional Badminton Executive Member Board, chaired by Mr Joseph Agbesi (a contractor), have a four-year mandate to serve as the Local Governing Council for the Association.

The Regional Executive members, have been tasked to among other things, develop and promote badminton at the grass-root level in the region by working in collaboration with the Regional National Sports Authority (NSA) and relevant local authorities.

The Eastern Regional Badminton governing board, are also to ensure every sports club or special interest group in the region complies with the rules and regulations of Badminton.

Mr Yeboah, during the inauguration said, he was confident the Executive Members would work hard to ensure that, the Association was ran professionally in the region, in the growth of increasingly popularity for the sport.

He urged them to make the sport popular and attractive to all and sundry in the region.

The badminton national association, also made provisions for a new regional guideline for the governance of the sport in the region.

Mr Agbesi, on behalf of the Board, thanked the BAG president for the confidence reposed in them and assured that, the Regional Board would work assiduously to ensure the sport was developed and promoted in the region.

The inauguration ceremony coupled with an oath of affirmation was attended by the Eastern Regional Director of the National Sports Authority (NSA), Cynthia Adamtey, Badminton Women Commissioner Chair among a host of other personalities.

Other members of the Board are Mr. Ollenu Lemuel, Vice-Chairman, Mr Ocansey Ahumah (Ghana Education Service, GES), Regional Coach, Mr Gustav Enam, Treasurer, and Mr David Wayoe Tei (PE Codinator) as Secretary.

The rest are Mr. Daniel Amamoo Eshun (P.E. Teacher), GES Representative, Thunder Ayeh, NSA Representative, Ms Akpa Edith (GES), Co-opted Member and Mr Ocansey Dakeh (GES, Teacher), Co-opted Member.


Source: GNA Story (
Published: 2018-09-12 13:32:43
© Ghana News Agency